Sole Sister

Cruising in the single lane

Crossing over

5 Comments

Anyone who has crossed the road in Vietnam knows what being scared is. Pedestrian crossings, especially in Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City, mean nothing. I thought crossing the road couldn’t get any scarier but that was before I visited Iran. Crossing the road in Iran is not for chickens, especially in traffic-choked Tehran.

In Vietnam the traffic consisted of mostly motor cycles. In Iran a total lack of respect for pedestrian crossings combines with a vehicular onslaught of cars, buses, taxis and motorcycles, the latter weaving in and out of traffic and sometimes onto pavements. Courage and resolution are needed.

 

IMG_5622

Identify a gap…

IMG_5623 crossing ed

IMG_5624 crossing 2 ed

…and don’t stop

On advice from our guide we always crossed as a group – safety in numbers. The rule is: spot an opportunity, step resolutely forward and NEVER stop. Hesitate and all is lost. Hestiation confuses the drivers who are used to missing pedestrians by hair-breadth margins.

Our guide explained that in Iran drivers factor in your forward progress across a road and gauge their trajectory accordingly. It may seem like they are about to plough you down but as long as you don’t stop they will invariably miss you by the narrowest of margins. When going solo the best policy is to be a complete coward and cross with as large a group of local people as possible.

Good luck!

IMG_4985 fearless ed

Fearless local. 

Author: technanna

I grew up in western Queensland, worked as a newspaper and television journalist, public relations and public affairs officer and freelance correspondent in Australia, the UK, Japan and Saudi Arabia. I have three grown children and two grandchildren. I am retired, but work to keep the brain and body fit, and to stay marginally in touch in our ever-changing technological environment.

5 thoughts on “Crossing over

  1. Sure does sound scary . Do you still read my blog?

  2. But you make up with quality writing.

    • Thank you! I meant to mention, I used to get alerts to your posts automatically in my email, but then it stopped. I sat with my son (my techno adviser!) and he couldn’t get it to work either. So I need to go to the site to check regularly – although I know there will always be a new post. I don’t know if it has anything to do with shifting to WordPress, but that shouldn’t affect it.

  3. this reminds me of indian roads…… crazy!! …… i think attaching oneself to locals for crossing is a wise tactic!

Leave a Reply

