Sole Sister

Cruising in the single lane

Argave it a go

Leave a comment

I DO not have a green thumb. If there is a plant Heaven I will have contributed many of its occupants.

But I love house plants and was impressed by an argave grown by my cousin in a large glass candle jar full of water. This as rather clever as argaves are desert plants – from southern USA, Mexico and Central America – and  not keen on too much water http://www.abc.net.au/gardening/stories/s1866768.htm. I tried about a year ago to grow a jarred argave but instead ended up with a distinctly deceased specimen rotting in the water. Bravely I have tried again under long-distance tutelage from my cousin and, a month on, I have a healthy plant sprouting multiple roots in a tall glass jar. I’m not up to my cousin’s skill level yet but it’s looking promising.

Green shoots...My water-dwelling argave is taking root

Green shoots…My water-dwelling argave is taking root

Author: technanna

I grew up in western Queensland, worked as a newspaper and television journalist, public relations and public affairs officer and freelance correspondent in Australia, the UK, Japan and Saudi Arabia. I have three grown children and two grandchildren. I am retired, but work to keep the brain and body fit, and to stay marginally in touch in our ever-changing technological environment.

Leave a Reply

